Should i be the one providing for my girlfriend ?

Thulani96

Space Monkey
space monkey
hey guys

Ive got a small problem thats been eating away at me for some time. Ive been dating my girlfriend for 1 year and some months now. Over the period of time we've been dating, there. has been an increase in responsibility i have for my girlfriend. She is in college, with a pending diploma, of which she's having trouble compleating because of her parents' financial problems.

For the past two months she's been renting a room in a girls boarding house , which i have been paying $90 for, i mean im a young man, that could go a long way for me. Apart from that ive been helping her out with a few groceries from time to time. Im an artist so when i sell paintings , its how ive been paying her rent .

well at first it was cool, because i actually felt like i was kind of being the good guy. But now im starting to feel a little sceptical , because i read on here about how, i am supposed to be tge lover and not the provider , and about how youre a "bitch boy" if you're doing good things for your girlfriend. That you have to say "No" so that she'll respect you. I mean im just confused , i dont want to look stingy, but neither do i wanna be a disrespected.

I know its a stupid move and i admit i shouldnt have, but ive spoken to her about this whenever she starts to take shit forgranted. I told her that she needs to start handling shit for herself, and that im not going to keep tying her shoes for her. and whats been happening is shes been apologising for asking for stuff and shes been saying she wishes she could pay me back if only she had enough money. she's been trying to make up for it by being submissive.

Because of these insecurities , ive been making up for it with too much sex , being too dominant and controlling. But im just trying to take care of her, while being a good lover at the same time.

Fluxcapacitor

Modern Human
Modern Human